ZAMEK Culture Centre

- homepage


MARIAN MARZYŃSKI (head of the jury)

Marzyński is a documentary director; his cinema debut was Return of the Ship (1963), a documentary short. Following March 1968, Marzyński emigrated to Denmark, where his camera documented the life of Poles of Jewish origin, who like himself had been compelled to leave the country.  Since the 1980s, Marzyński has been making films in the US, in which he speaks of the fates of a Holocaust survivor, a documentarian, and a Polish emigrant, with such pictures as Return to Poland (1980), Shtetl (1996), Never Forget to Lie (2012). In 2004, after 30 years in the making, Marzyński finished Anya. In and Out of Focus, a cinematic portrait of his daughter. The years 2019 has seen yet another completed project entitled After the Game Show, about the participants of the national TV show Tournament of Cities, on which he worked at the Polish Television in the 1960s.


She has a degree in Cultural Managment and in Philosophy both from Jagiellonian University in Cracow. Since 2014 is a project coordinator at Ad Arte Foundation of Cultural Education in Poznan, Poland. She has worked on multiple interdiciplinary projects including educational activities, film programming and international short film distribution. In 2019 she has become a Festival Director of Short Waves Festival, which 12th edition will take place in Poznan in March 2020.


She graduated in Direction from the Łódź Film School and is currently a doctoral student. Two-time recipient of the Award of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage for outstanding achievement in arts, as well as a winner of the Wiesław Nowicki Award for the most promising young filmmaker.  In November 2017, Prus debuted with the full-length documentary Over the Limit, which reaped multiple accolades and won the author a place among Variety’s 10 documentarians to watch. Author of acclaimed studies such as Vakha and Magomed (2010), Eighteen (2012), Talk to Me (2015) and Hot and Cold (2017). Prus also made a documentary series Teen Mom Poland (2014), and worked as second unit director in the television series Illegals  for Canal+ (2018). 


JURY of lon-length competitions films

WOJCIECH STAROŃ (head of the jury)

Wojciech Staroń is a cinematographer, contributor to numerous feature and documentary productions. His work as a documentarian is both profoundly psychological and poetic. Staroń’s oeuvre spans “lessons of life” with some autobiographical component (Siberian Lesson, 1998, Argentinian Lessons, 2011) as well as study portraits of “indomitable people” (El Misionero, 2000, Brothers, 2015). His camerawork may be seen in such pictures as Saviour Square (best picture in the Polish competition at Camerimage 2006), El Premio (Silver Bear for cinematography at the 2011 Berlin Film Festival), Papusza (Orzeł award for cinematography, received with K. Ptak in 2014). 


Francesco Clerici graduated in Art History and Criticism from the Università Statale di Milano. He is an award-winning documentary director and a writer.
Since 2009, he has been collaborating with the Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d’Art et d’Essai and with contemporary artist Velasco Vitali, as well as teaching courses, workshops and lessons for schools and universities (Università Bicocca di Milano, Università degli studi di Milano, Università degli studi di Parma). In 2012 he published his first book of short stories: 24 Fotogrammi: storia aneddotica del cinema (Secondavista Edizioni, 2012). Hand Gestures, his first feature film documentary, was presented at the 2015 Berlin Film Festival, in the FORUM section, where he won the International Critics’ Award (FIPRESCI). His works have been presented at festivals all over the world (London Film Festival, Viennale, RIDM Montreal, Sarajevo Film Festival) and screened in locations such as the National Gallery of Art in Washington, the British Film Institute of London, the Irish Film Institute of Dublin, the Cineteca Nacional de Mexico of Mexico City, the Cinemateca Uruguaya de Montevideo, the Dundee Contemporary Art Museum, the Institute of Contemporary Arts in London, the Barbican, and the Palazzo Reale in Milan.


Associate professor in the Film and Television Direction Department in the Polish National Film School in Lodz; author of numerous articles on documentary film and Polish cinema published in Images, Kwartalnik Filmowy, Studia Filmoznawcze and the books Krall i filmowcy (Poznań 2006; Krall and the Filmmakers), Europa Europa (Poznań 2007; Holland's Europa Europa, trans. by D. Polsby, Poznań 2007), Ludzie polskiego kina. Agnieszka Holland (Warszawa 2009), Widok z tej strony. Przedstawienia Holocaustu w polskim filmie (Poznań 2012; A View From This Side: Presentations of the Holocaust in Polish Cinema); co-editor of edited volumes on non-fiction film (Zobaczyć siebie. Polski film dokumentalny przełomu wieków, Poznań 2011, Pogranicza dokumentu, Poznań 2012) and editor of the books Od obserwacji do animacji. Autorzy o filmie dokumentalnym, Łódź 2017 and Theory of Practice, Łódź 2019; editorial board member for the internet site (Filmoteka).